well-temperedforum.groupee.net    The Well-Tempered Forum  Hop To Forum Categories  Off Key    Help w piano placement
Page 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 

Moderators: QuirtEvans, pianojuggler, wtg
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Help w piano placement
 Login/Join

Has Achieved Nirvana
Picture of wtg
posted Hide Post
Have you considered putting the piano in the much larger living room, and using the (former) dining room as a TV room/away space instead of for the piano?

eta: I love the rug. I'm not good at imagining things and often change my mind when I see something in person, but I don't think that it would look odd for the piano to be angled across it.

--------------------------------
When the world wearies and society ceases to satisfy, there is always the garden - Minnie Aumônier

Posts: 38203 | Location: Somewhere in the middle | Registered: 19 January 2010Reply With QuoteReport This Post
(self-titled) semi-posting lurker
Minor Deity
Picture of ShiroKuro
posted Hide Post
Ok, oops, I made a mistake in designing my floor plans. The bump out for the bay window is not as roomy as I've drawn it (the drawing at the very beginning of this thread is right, but the floorplanner ones are not)

Here are some photos of the actual room (ignore the unironed curtains, I'll iron before we move in)

My piano recordings at Box.Net: https://app.box.com/s/j4rgyhn72uvluemg1m6u

Posts: 18847 | Location: not in Japan any more | Registered: 20 April 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Minor Deity
Picture of ShiroKuro
posted Hide Post
quote:
Have you considered putting the piano in the much larger living room, and using the (former) dining room as a TV room/away space instead of for the piano?

No, I have specifically thought that I won't do that because I want the piano to not be in the same room as the kitchen. I know people do this... and of course, in our rental, the piano room sort of opens to the kitchen but the oven is back around the corner from where the piano is.... hmmm...