well-temperedforum.groupee.net
Piano shopping update -- my life is ruined now

This topic can be found at:
https://well-temperedforum.groupee.net/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/9130004433/m/9591005366

26 July 2019, 08:59 PM
ShiroKuro
Piano shopping update -- my life is ruined now
I have another piano shopping update. I made a big mistake. I played a brand new Steinway M.

But let me first say I have never cared two shakes (or three) about Steinway as a name, or a mystique, which seems more accurate. I've played some Steinways I like, and some that were decidedly blah. But in general, I have been ignoring the ones I've seen online, they're all over priced from where I sit. And I did play one in a dealer a while back. It sounded like it was under a blanket. Yuck.

Not this one. OMG I fell in love with it immediately. I have never played a piano and responded to it like that in my whole life. I don't know what it was ... I'm a pretty mediocre pianist as y'all know, but that instrument made everything I played sound so good, every note was exquisite -- even the wrong ones! Ole I was just swooning the whole time! And also my heart was breaking, that thing probably costs about 1/2 of what we paid for our house!

That's the last time I'm going to play such an expensive piano. Jeez Louise.

In other news, I really like every Boston I've played so far.... OTOH, although I've been expecting that I'll end up wanting a Yamaha, I can't seem to find a Yamaha C2 or C3 that's a little newer and actually in tune, so the verdict is still out on that one.

So the hunt continues...

--------------------------------
My piano recordings at Box.Net: https://app.box.com/s/j4rgyhn72uvluemg1m6u

26 July 2019, 09:02 PM
Mikhailoh
I have had the similar experience ....blah for the most part. Then I played a concert prepped B. Utter magic in tone and touch. Made me much better than I am. Might have preferred it to my ideal, Bechsteins.