well-temperedforum.groupee.net    The Well-Tempered Forum  Hop To Forum Categories  Off Key    Did some "plastic" surgery

Moderators: QuirtEvans, pianojuggler, wtg
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Did some "plastic" surgery
 Login/Join

Shut up and play your guitar!
Minor Deity
Picture of markj
posted
I performed some "plastic surgery" on 3 of my guitars.

Removal of the "Celluoid" Faux Tortoise Shell pickguards.

The only plastic part on the guitars. I never liked the look of these things on guitars. Especially acoustics with gorgeous wood grain.

I never liked how the pickguard was installed on my OO-40. It covered the beautiful abalone in the rosette. I have been threatening to remove it for over 2 years but never had the courage to do it until today.

After discussing the safest way to remove a pickguard with my good friend, and luthier, Bill Hatfield, he assured me it would work and told me to just take my time and be patient.

Naptha to dissolve the adhesive.

Dental floss and a disposable brush to apply the naptha to the adhesive to soften it as I gently pulled up working my way 1mm or less at a time. It took about 15 minutes to remove it and clean up the remaining adhesive residue. Zero damage done to either the top or the pickguard.

I liked the result so much I decided to take on the other two guitars. The Forum VI is so new it had no tan line.

Expected tan lines on the 2015 OO-40 and the 2017 LV-10 50th Anniversary model. I can even out the top and with the old photographic techniques of dodge and burn. Making a mask to shield the darkened areas and expose the lighter areas. Leave it sitting in a window with indirect sunlight for an hour a day until it blends in. The "tan lines" will completely disappear.

Happy with the results on all three of my babies.