well-temperedforum.groupee.net    The Well-Tempered Forum  Hop To Forum Categories  Off Key    3D Design & Printing meets Astronomy

Moderators: QuirtEvans, pianojuggler, wtg
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

3D Design & Printing meets Astronomy
 Login/Join

Shut up and play your guitar!
Minor Deity
Picture of markj
posted
Of course!

I recently learned how to do parametric design and drafting along with learning enough Fusion 360 and 3D drafting to be able to realize this project. Then I had to **** can the Fusion 360 project because I cannot justify $500 / year to use the program because I happen to design something that I want to sell. And that sales activity might generate a grand total of $100 or less. lol

I downloaded FreeCAD. Which, as the name indicates, is free! YAY! Now I had to learn a new 3D CAD program. Not so yay. But I plowed through. I started learning it late last night. And by 5:00 tonight I had my design finished and debugged.

I was getting restless. Not even taking a look through a telescope in almost 5 years. Something had to give. After selling off almost everything astronomy related over the past few years, including my only mount, my 130 GT refractor sat it the case all this time and it needs to be used! Picked up a budget mount, the iOptron GEM28. I am looking forward to being under the night sky in 2022.

So, a problem arose in that the included counterweight was insufficient to balance my telescope. I happened to have a very nice Astro-Physics 18lb Stainless counterweight leftover from my previous mount. Problem is, the shaft diameter is almost twice the diameter of the new mount counterweight shaft.

So I started out in TinkerCAD (freebie, rudimentary 3D CAD) and made this donut that was half the depth of the counterweight.

It worked but was to fiddly getting it to line up with the pin that tightens it to the shaft.