well-temperedforum.groupee.net    The Well-Tempered Forum  Hop To Forum Categories  Off Key    DOM for May
Page 1 2 

Moderators: QuirtEvans, pianojuggler, wtg
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

DOM for May
 Login/Join

Serial origamist
Has Achieved Nirvana
Picture of pianojuggler
posted
Inspired by this month's picture... looking onward and upward!

What did you want to be when you grew up? Yeah? What did you study in college or school? And what are you actually doing (or did) for a living?

The winner will be the story with the biggest difference between where you thought you'd be and where you ended up.

I'll go first.

When I was a kid, I wanted to be a bus driver. I majored in Russian language and literature with a minor in sociology. I wanted to be a photojournalist and work in Eastern Europe. And now? I am a technical writer for a company that makes new-fangled flying machines. Go figger.

--------------------------------
pj, citizen-poster, unless specifically noted otherwise.

mod-in-training.

pj@ermosworld∙com

All types of erorrs fixed while you wait.

Posts: 30038 | Registered: 27 April 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Has Achieved Nirvana
Picture of CHAS
posted Hide Post
Wanted to be a horse trainer.
Did more farming than practicing law.
Back to looking at horses in my retirement.

Several people have eaten my cooking and survived.

Posts: 25704 | Location: Still living at 9000 feet in the High Rockies of Colorado | Registered: 20 April 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Foregoing Vacation to Post
Picture of Dan
posted Hide Post
When I was a little boy, I wanted to be "Wells Fargo" because I was totally in love with the TV show. I guess that sorta qualifies as wanting to be a cowboy.

Then when I was a little older, I wanted to be a banker and be "rich rich rich". Smiler

In junior high and high school I was determined to go to Annapolis and become a submarine captain.