well-temperedforum.groupee.net    The Well-Tempered Forum  Hop To Forum Categories  Off Key    Now it's "LGBTQ+"
Page 1 2 

Moderators: QuirtEvans, pianojuggler, wtg
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Now it's "LGBTQ+"
 Login/Join

Has Achieved Nirvana
Picture of Daniel
posted
LGBTQ+

Plus what? I'm at the a loss. I have no idea.

"Queer" started to be used by academics around the time I graduated from college. I don't know what it means.

In my day it was, "GLBT."

*shrug*

Posts: 24724 | Registered: 31 March 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Beatification Candidate
Picture of rontuner
posted Hide Post
...and there's more!

https://gaycenter.org/about/lgbtq/

"The ‘plus’ is used to signify all of the gender identities and sexual orientations that letters and words cannot yet fully describe."

--------------------------------
Visit me on the Web!
www.ronkoval.com

Posts: 7556 | Location: chicagoland | Registered: 21 April 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Has Achieved Nirvana
Picture of Daniel
posted Hide Post
Semiotics?

Lol!

Foregoing Practicing to Post
Minor Deity
Picture of RealPlayer
posted Hide Post
I heard there was some internal squabbling in the community over whether bisexuals really exist.

“It's hard to win an argument with a smart person. It's damn near impossible to win an argument with a stupid person." -- Bill Murray

Posts: 13814 | Location: The outer burrows | Registered: 27 April 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Has Achieved Nirvana
Picture of jon-nyc
posted Hide Post
My favorite is “non-binary”. I still haven’t figured out just what the difference is between saying “I’m non-binary” and saying “LOOK AT ME”.

I mean, does anyone actually identify as “binary”, after all?

Also, if you concede the point, that some people are “binary” and some are “non-binary”, isn’t that just another binary?

If you think looting is bad wait until I tell you about civil forfeiture.