well-temperedforum.groupee.net    The Well-Tempered Forum  Hop To Forum Categories  Off Key    I want a job as a bourbon researcher

Moderators: QuirtEvans, pianojuggler, wtg
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

I want a job as a bourbon researcher
 Login/Join

Has Achieved Nirvana
Picture of wtg
posted
quote:
Few beverages have as rich a heritage and as complicated a chemistry as bourbon whiskey, often called “America’s spirit.” Known for its deep amber hue and robust flavors, bourbon has captured the hearts of enthusiasts across the country.

But for a whiskey to be called a bourbon, it has to adhere to very specific rules. For one, it needs to be made in the U.S. or a U.S. territory – although almost all is made in Kentucky. The other rules have more to do with the steps to make it – how much corn is in the grain mixture, the aging process and the alcohol proof.

I’m a bourbon researcher and chemistry professor who teaches classes on fermentation, and I’m a bourbon connoisseur myself. The complex science behind this aromatic beverage reveals why there are so many distinct bourbons, despite the strict rules around its manufacture.

And gotta love this:

quote:
Michael W. Crowder
Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry, Miami University

Disclosure statement
Michael W. Crowder received funding from Sazerac Corp., as pass through funds from MindXAI, to characterize the chemical composition of bourbons that were part of the Single Oak Project using NMR spectroscopy. Michael is a Faculty Fellow at the James B. Beam Institute and a Certified Executive Bourbon Steward from the Stave and Thief Society.

https://theconversation.com/th...placement=newsletter

--------------------------------
We are all visitors to this time, this place. We are just passing through. Our purpose here is to observe, to learn, to grow, to love… and then we return home. - Australian Aboriginal proverb

Bazootiehead-in-training