well-temperedforum.groupee.net    The Well-Tempered Forum  Hop To Forum Categories  Off Key    Who is WOKER than Whom? Words used/not used and by whom

Moderators: QuirtEvans, pianojuggler, wtg
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Who is WOKER than Whom? Words used/not used and by whom
 Login/Join

Minor Deity
Picture of Amanda
posted
Test yourselves.

What words do you use?

Al, you might enjoy this.

--------------------------------
The most dangerous word in the language is "obvious"

Posts: 14392 | Location: PA | Registered: 20 April 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
czarina
Has Achieved Nirvana
Picture of piqué
posted Hide Post
As a writer, I object to some of the idiocy around "woke" language--a lot of it deserves the mockery it receives.

There are words that really are pejorative--"spaz" for certain. "retard" (not on the list) is another example. Those are words used by bullies, not civil people.

But go to any Indian reservation near me and the locals call themselves "Indians", not "Native Americans". One friend who fits the description says "a half-breed is what I am--nothing wrong with that."

Do the Romany people object to the word "Gypsy"?

I think the groups referred to should be able to decide for themselves what they are called.

I've had people ask me if being called a Jew is a pejorative. Well, no, unless you think there is something hateful about being Jewish.

Another weirdness is people referring to a husband as pregnant. An impossibility.

I was also truly mystified by the revelation that some trans men get pregnant. If they transitioned to being men, why would they want to be pregnant??

I prefer language to be as rich as possible, and it should be possible to be respectful while saying most of what is on this quiz.

fear is the thief of dreams

Posts: 21339 | Registered: 18 May 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Beatification Candidate
Picture of big al
posted Hide Post