well-temperedforum.groupee.net    The Well-Tempered Forum  Hop To Forum Categories  Off Key    Dallas is dying.
Page 1 2 

Moderators: QuirtEvans, pianojuggler, wtg
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Dallas is dying.
 Login/Join

Has Achieved Nirvana
Picture of Steve Miller
posted
Damn this is hard.

Dallas, the giant puppy, who I’ve been posting about since 2008, has reached the end of his life. These damned dogs just don’t live long enough.

It’s a degenerative disease in his back. First he couldn’t jump in to the truck, then he couldn’t climb up on the couch. It doesn’t seem to be pain, just weakness. Unfortunately, he can no longer get up when he lies down. I have to lift him. When he needs to move he barks in a most pitiful way. He also barks like that whenever one of us isn’t right next to him. Breaks my heart.

What a wonderful companion! We planned our vacations around this crazy dog. He lived to swim, and swim he did. Several different dog beaches, streams in the Sierras, a muddy little pond in a dog training place near the house and a swimming pool at a fancy ass dog kennel out in the desert. Yeah, Dallas has had a great life.

As I promised.

Dallas was offered for adoption on a website. It turns out that his owner had married a woman who had two older dogs and Dallas was much too enthusiastic. Rather than admit his mistake, his owner agreed to put Dallas up for adoption. 10 different people wanted him and it turned into an essay contest on who would have given him the best life. Let’s just say I did very well in creative writing in high school, because I painted a picture of absolute dog Nirvana. We got the dog.