well-temperedforum.groupee.net    The Well-Tempered Forum  Hop To Forum Categories  Off Key    Korean food
Page 1 2 

Moderators: QuirtEvans, pianojuggler, wtg
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Korean food
 Login/Join

Has Achieved Nirvana
Picture of Steve Miller
posted
I tried Korean food for lunch yesterday and I’m obsessed! All of the flavors are so bright! I don’t know why I’ve never tried it before.

I had “spicy pork belly in sauce” which wasn’t all that spicy, although they may have taken a look at me and toned it down a bit. The meat was very high quality - no fat that I could see and that’s not easy with pork. The locals seem to like it - pretty much every table was full.

The sides made the meal and there were several of them. Green salad with a dressing made from peanut butter, pickled Daikon radishes (I liked them so much I bought a Daikon radish on the way home and it’s pickling as I type this), pickled onions, a slaw made of Napa cabbage (also a first for me - very mild), something they called fish cakes but tasted nothing like fish and looked like big soft Fritos (delish!) and perfectly cooked rice. It wasn’t cheap - the meal with a drink was some $18 but I got enough food for two meals so that’s not bad.

Googling around, it looks like the three heavy hitters in Korea are BBQ ribs, Bulgogi, and dumplings. The place I was did not offer the BBQ but did offer several variations on Bulgogi and dumplings. They also offered several dishes made from ox tail.

Any suggestions as to what to try next?

--------------------------------
Life is short. Play with your dog.

Posts: 34810 | Location: Hooterville, OH | Registered: 23 April 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
(self-titled) semi-posting lurker
Minor Deity
Picture of ShiroKuro
posted Hide Post
I love all the Korean food I've tried but I'm really ignore about the names (though I know some names in Japanese, not at all helpful!)

Chijimi?? is yummy....