well-temperedforum.groupee.net    The Well-Tempered Forum  Hop To Forum Categories  Off Key    Cooking a turkey breast anyone?

Moderators: QuirtEvans, pianojuggler, wtg
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Cooking a turkey breast anyone?
 Login/Join

Has Achieved Nirvana
Picture of jon-nyc
posted
I'm going to make a turkey breast later this week. I've never done it before.

Nothing fancy, no smoker, no bbq. Just the oven.

Any advice?

--------------------------------
If you think looting is bad wait until I tell you about civil forfeiture.

Posts: 33797 | Location: On the Hudson | Registered: 20 April 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Has Achieved Nirvana
Picture of wtg
posted Hide Post
Bone in?

We are all visitors to this time, this place. We are just passing through. Our purpose here is to observe, to learn, to grow, to love… and then we return home. - Australian Aboriginal proverb

Bazootiehead-in-training

Posts: 37794 | Location: Somewhere in the middle | Registered: 19 January 2010Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Has Achieved Nirvana
Picture of jon-nyc
posted Hide Post
Probably, but I'm open to suggestions there too.

If you think looting is bad wait until I tell you about civil forfeiture.

Posts: 33797 | Location: On the Hudson | Registered: 20 April 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Has Achieved Nirvana
Picture of wtg
posted Hide Post
I love the Julia Child deconstructed turkey recipe as revised by America's Test Kitchen. You could modify for just a bone-in breast; I'll do an overview of their recipe without mods...

Basic premise is you cut the turkey into pieces. Remove the backbone. Remove wings and legs/thighs (cut thigh off at body and leave drumstick attached to thigh). Remove the thigh bone, leave the drumstick bone in. Truss the thigh.

Use the wings, backbone, and thigh bone to make a stock for gravy.

You're left with the breast meat still on the bone. Brine the breast.