well-temperedforum.groupee.net    The Well-Tempered Forum  Hop To Forum Categories  Off Key    Atlas Obscura

Moderators: QuirtEvans, pianojuggler, wtg
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Atlas Obscura
 Login/Join

Has Achieved Nirvana
Picture of Steve Miller
posted
I just learned about this today. It's a book - also a website - that lists offbeat and unusual things to see all over the world.

There are cool things less than 5 miles from my house I have never seen, and more cool things that I have seen but never paid much attention to. When you get up in to Los Angeles there are 191 sites, of which I have seen about 30. I've seen a couple in Chicago, a few more in Cleveland and Phoenix and possibly more in other places. I'm just getting started.

Have you heard of this book? What have you seen in your area? What would you like to see?

My grandkids are going to get to see a lot of cool stuff. ThumbsUp

--------------------------------
Life is short. Play with your dog.

Posts: 34852 | Location: Hooterville, OH | Registered: 23 April 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Minor Deity
Picture of Axtremus
posted Hide Post
Fantastic find! ThumbsUp ThumbsUp

www.PianoRecital.org -- my piano recordings -- China Tune album

Posts: 12682 | Registered: 01 December 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Foregoing Practicing to Post
Minor Deity
Picture of RealPlayer
posted Hide Post
Cool find, Steve! I clicked on the NYC places, and of the first things to show up, I was familiar with City Hall subway station and the Dream House (I worked for composer La Monte Young and artist Marian Zazeela) so have experienced the Dream House. I don't know when the City Hall station can be visited, but it must be open at limited times.

This is akin to the "Weird NY" or "Weird L.A." sites that have appeared in recent years.

“It's hard to win an argument with a smart person. It's damn near impossible to win an argument with a stupid person." -- Bill Murray