well-temperedforum.groupee.net    The Well-Tempered Forum  Hop To Forum Categories  Off Key    Always pays to read the reviews (hey, pj!)
Page 1 2 3 

Moderators: QuirtEvans, pianojuggler, wtg
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Always pays to read the reviews (hey, pj!)
 Login/Join

Serial origamist
Has Achieved Nirvana
Picture of pianojuggler
posted Hide Post
Sorry, I missed your hail. I’ve been working and we have a houseguest from France for a couple weeks.

I love Lane, but I’m not an expert by any means.

--------------------------------
pj, citizen-poster, unless specifically noted otherwise.

mod-in-training.

pj@ermosworld∙com

All types of erorrs fixed while you wait.

Posts: 30030 | Registered: 27 April 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Beatification Candidate
Picture of big al
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by wtg:
I'll see your oak 1x4x6 and raise you some inch and a half thick maple butcher block, 3 feet by 3 feet:

Free. I scavenged it today from the guy who lives across the street from my friend. He's a retired architect and said it was what's left of their old kitchen table. Before that, it was a reference table in the offices of architects Perkins and Will, the designers of the First National Bank of Chicago.

The pieces need to be reglued; what you see in the pic above is actually four or five separate sections that have come apart. I have no clue what to do with it. Thinking about making a base for it to make a table and using it for who knows what. Ole

I couldn't leave that beautiful maple on the garbage pile....if I don't use it, I'll put it on craigslist. It has to be worth something.

Woot

I wonder what sort of glue is used to laminate butcher block. I would suspect that piece has been left in an unfavorable environment - maybe moist and not temperature controlled to cause it to delaminate. It could easily be reglued with some clamps to hold it but I don't know what adhesives are considered food compatible.